Officially the Togolese Republic, Togo is a narrow strip of land on Africa's west coast bordering Ghana to the west, Benin to the east and Burkina Faso to the north. It was a German colony from 1884 to 1914 and then a French outpost until independence came in 1960. With French as the official language, 42 other languages are spoken by the Togolese. Probably one of the nicest places in Western Africa, Togo is a developing economy based primarily on agricultural production and port activity.

As a modern coin issuer, Togo is famous for its unique Amber Lunar series of coins dedicated to the animals of the Chinese Zodiac calendar.