The Republic of Kiribati, the former Gilbert Islands,  is a country in the central tropical Pacific Ocean. Comprising 33 atolls, Kiribati stretches nearly 4 000 km from east to west, more than 2 000 km from north to south, and straddle the Equator. The name Kiribati is the local rendition of Gilberts in the Gilbertese, or I-Kiribati, language, thus it is pronounced like “Ki-ri-bas.” Being one of the low-lying Pacific island states, Kiribati is highly vulnerable to global warming and rising sea levels that is causing the reduction of the island landmass.

Apart from fish and coconuts considered the mainstay of the country’s economy, Kiribati is known to issue modern commemorative coins.